This chapter opens with one of the most instructive passages on the Sabbath to be found in the Word of God.  Proper observance of the Sabbath day remains a bone of contention even among honest Christians, who have struggled to interpret exactly how we are to honor God through the 4th commandment, now that the types and shadows of ceremonial Sabbath rituals have been done away.  I confess that, for my part, I have not worked out many of the difficulties that present themselves upon this challenging subject.  I cannot admit what some have argued, that the 4th commandment is entirely abolished, for then we might be able to say the same concerning other parts of the Decalogue.

Nevertheless, I do think that certain views of Sabbath observance can be too rigidly held.  The apostle Paul warned us not to allow any man to judge us in regard to meat or drink, of holy says, or of the Sabbath (Colossians 2:16).  In short, I do believe that the early Christians were correct in changing their regular day of worship from the seventh day of the week to the first, in commemoration of our Lord’s resurrection.  I do believe that one day of the week ought to be set aside for both bodily and spiritual rest.  God has given us six days in which to perform the labors necessary to the maintenance of our earthly lives.  I cannot grant that now all seven are up to our own discretion.  How that one day in seven ought to be observed, I will not enter into here, except only to say that the more we honor God the better, so long as we keep within proper bounds and do not make it a grounds of saving righteousness.

