Before yesterday’s morning service at Sovereign Grace Church of Muskogee, Oklahoma, the congregation voted to have me ordained during our annual spring Bible conference.  Needless to say, I consider April 2nd, 2012 to be a very momentous day in my life.  The fact that the saints in our assembly have enough confidence in me to have me ordained to the ministry of the Word of God is humbling, gratifying, and in many ways frightening.  I grew up in a pastor’s home (my father has been the pastor of Sovereign Grace Church since its inception, several years before I was born), and so I am well aware that the ministry is not a bed of roses. 

I am also keenly aware that the ministry of the Word of God is a solemn responsibility.  Ever since ordination became a possibility, I have thought much on James 3:1: “My brethren, be not many masters, knowing that we shall receive the greater condemnation.”  Teaching the Word of God is a great joy and privilege, but also a dreadful responsibility.  I frequently pray that the Lord will forever remove me from the pulpit before permitting me to lead His people into error.

For any of my friends, relatives, or brethren in Christ who may read this, I simply want to ask for your prayers that the grace of the Lord will be with me as I enter into this new phase of service to Christ.  It is an office which is too great for the abilities of any sinful man, but once which can be used for the glory of the Saviour, if His grace is with us. 

