Buchanan Analyzes American Culture

Although I don’t like his Catholic theology, I find Patrick Buchanan to be one of the most astute observers of modern America.  Today’s piece (Friday, March 16th), is one of the best he has written recently.  Mr. Buchanan clearly proves that the moral degradation of American culture is not just in our imagination, but has been a long work in process.  I was struck by the observation that Christian influence was strong enough just a few decades back that even Hollywood was affected by it.  Obviously, those days are long gone.  The church is more under the influence of Hollywood than vice versa.

By the way, I also recommend Mr. Buchanan’s new book Suicide of a Superpower.  I haven’t finished it yet, but so far it is excellent.  The fact that Buchanan lost his job at MSNBC over the book should be all the recommendation it needs.

